WOOD FROM SHARETEXTURES.COM

For all the users of Twilight Render (V1 & V2), to ask questions and get started
zarnollistudio

WOOD FROM SHARETEXTURES.COM

Post by zarnollistudio » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:09 pm

Hello, I am a beginner in Twilight and I would need some help to understand how I can get the wood like in the material ball,
I here enclosed the screen shot of sharetextures provides...
If I use "diffuse" picture in the color twilight texture... then my wood is orange.
Do you think I can use this texture with Twilight ?
Attachments
WOOD.PNG
WOOD.PNG (324.09 KiB) Viewed 6193 times

Fletch
SketchUp: 2016-2023

Re: WOOD FROM SHARETEXTURES.COM

Post by Fletch » Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:49 am

zarnollistudio wrote: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:09 pm Hello, I am a beginner in Twilight and I would need some help to understand how I can get the wood like in the material ball,
I here enclosed the screen shot of sharetextures provides...
If I use "diffuse" picture in the color twilight texture... then my wood is orange.
Do you think I can use this texture with Twilight ?
:welcome: zarnollistudio

Absolutely you can use this texture.

What is very strange about your screenshot is that the diffuse texture is very orange (as you have pointed out) while the "material ball" preview shows it to definitely be of a completely different brown color.
So, it is not clear how they achieved that color of preview from the diffuse color provided. Something is wrong there.

Nevertheless, you can either edit the diffuse texture to be the correct color before you insert it into your model/scene, or you can insert the diffuse texture into your sketchup model and apply it as a texture to a face, then select the texture inside of Sketchup using the Material Eye Dropper for SketchUp native material editor, not for Twilight Render. Then you can edit the color of the texture using SketchUp's material editor to be more brown, like the color you desire, and move on from there.