No lights in light tool dialog

For all the users of Twilight Render (V1 & V2), to ask questions and get started
Chris
Posts: 5238
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:00 am
OS: Win10
SketchUp: 2016

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by Chris » Fri Feb 25, 2022 5:35 pm

morryell wrote: Thu Feb 24, 2022 7:58 pm
Chris wrote: Tue Feb 22, 2022 2:17 pm This issue is almost always because you don't have a light selected to edit.
no, not like that. usually; Before rendering i define the materials and adding lights. This is my ordinary way. But now i cant add light. When opening the light box, box is empty. There is no light option. I know using that dialog box. but now it is empty.
Just to be clear, you clicked on the lighting tool in the toolbar, then clicked 3 times in your scene to place the light (Reference Anchor, Light Position, Light Target)?

ntxdave
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:05 pm
OS: Win 10
SketchUp: 2019Pro

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by ntxdave » Fri Feb 25, 2022 6:04 pm

Chris wrote: Fri Feb 25, 2022 5:35 pm Just to be clear, you clicked on the lighting tool in the toolbar, then clicked 3 times in your scene to place the light (Reference Anchor, Light Position, Light Target)?
I know this is the way it works but I have always wondered why 3 clicks. Why not 2 (Light Position, Light Target)? What is the reason/advantage of the Reference Anchor?

Fletch
Posts: 12220
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:41 pm
OS: PC 64bit
SketchUp: 2016-2021
Contact:

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by Fletch » Sat Feb 26, 2022 3:36 am

lights which share space with other 3D geometry result in artifacts and slower rendering.

the first click is a reference point, then you move away from the adjacent geometry to click for position of light, then third click for target.

ntxdave
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:05 pm
OS: Win 10
SketchUp: 2019Pro

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by ntxdave » Sat Feb 26, 2022 4:44 pm

Makes sense!

Just thing out loud - it would be neat if the first click would highlight the reference object in some way (like with the SU banding box) so that you have selected the correct reference and then allowed you to click the center of the reference object for the position of the light. As an example, if you wanted to make the center of a lamp shade as the position for the light, you would select the lamp shade as the reference point and then select the center of the face of the lamp shade as the starting point for the light.

Now another silly question, what if you see/decide you did not select the correct reference point on the first click, what do you do then? Could just right click to stop the creation of the light or dyou have to click two more times to finish the creation of a light and the go to the light editor and delete the “bad” light?

Chris
Posts: 5238
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:00 am
OS: Win10
SketchUp: 2016

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by Chris » Sat Feb 26, 2022 8:40 pm

If you want to terminate the action of any tool, you can click in the SketchUp toolbar to activate a different tool or (I think) you can just click Escape to terminate the tool.

morryell
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2022 10:01 am

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by morryell » Mon Feb 28, 2022 12:08 pm

Thanks for your interest. I uninstalled all about sketchup and twilight with revo uninstaller. After, installed again. So it i working now. What was the problem i dont know. but it was my solution.

Fletch
Posts: 12220
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:41 pm
OS: PC 64bit
SketchUp: 2016-2021
Contact:

Re: No lights in light tool dialog

Post by Fletch » Tue Mar 01, 2022 5:46 am

Glad to hear you got it working, that is frustrating for sure. Thank you for following up with this information. :^:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests