Electron Tube Project

Show what you're working on, get feedback and help
spreadcore
SketchUp: Sketchup 2017

Electron Tube Project

Post by spreadcore » Tue Feb 08, 2022 8:00 am

This is my attempt at modeling & rendering the cathode ray tube J.J. Thompson used to conduct experiments that would prove the existence of electrons. Mainly to learn the settings to use in rendering.

Next I'm looking to add a "Electron beam" in the tube, My first attempt was just using a long cylinder with a emitter to give it a glow placed inside. But that just looked like a cylinder with a glow. Not a Plasma like beam, What would be a better way?
JJ-Thomson-Cathode-Ray-Tube-01.jpg
JJ-Thomson-Cathode-Ray-Tube-01.jpg (733.19 KiB) Viewed 4565 times

Fletch
SketchUp: 2016-2023

Re: Electron Tube Project

Post by Fletch » Tue Feb 08, 2022 2:54 pm

I'm not very good with this type of scene, but can say that likely will need to use Easy 10 render setting.

These 2 scenes may help:

Download this scene:
Subject: Neon Tube Sign Light

Look for all the downloadable scenes in this thread:
Subject: Optics

spreadcore

Post by spreadcore » Tue Feb 08, 2022 3:49 pm

Fletch wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 2:54 pm I'm not very good with this type of scene, but can say that likely will need to use Easy 10 render setting.

These 2 scenes may help:

Download this scene:
Subject: Neon Tube Sign Light
Note: I'm not able to assess this link, It says "You are not authorised to read this forum."
Look for all the downloadable scenes in this thread:
Subject: Optics
Thank you I'll take a look at this link.

Fletch

Post by Fletch » Tue Feb 08, 2022 4:00 pm

Oh, my apologies, that forum is for licensed pro users only.

spreadcore

Post by spreadcore » Wed Feb 09, 2022 8:16 pm