Twilight V2 and Skatter

Questions, bugs, help for Twilight Render V2 Hobby and Professional
Phil Meadows
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Phil Meadows » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:31 pm

Full geometry, and Render Only
_______________________
Phil Meadows The Succinct

Chris
Posts: 5105
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:00 am
OS: Win10
SketchUp: 2016

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Chris » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:35 pm

To confirm, you have a locked and hidden instance of the grass in your SketchUp outliner?

What happens if, in the Skatter editor window, you uncheck Render Only, then re-check it (to enable re(Generate)), and then click re(Generate) and try to render?

Phil Meadows
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Phil Meadows » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:38 pm

Also, I just looked at the file size. Any reason a 8'x10' rectangle component and some Skatter grass should be almost 17mb?
_______________________
Phil Meadows The Succinct

Phil Meadows
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Phil Meadows » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:44 pm

Chris wrote: Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:35 pm To confirm, you have a locked and hidden instance of the grass in your SketchUp outliner?

What happens if, in the Skatter editor window, you uncheck Render Only, then re-check it (to enable re(Generate)), and then click re(Generate) and try to render?
Yes the grass instance is there.

After unchecking and rendering the grass in full geometry, I rechecked and rendered a blank rectangle again. I'd send the file but it's so large it won't let me. There's nothing else in the file.
_______________________
Phil Meadows The Succinct

Chris
Posts: 5105
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:00 am
OS: Win10
SketchUp: 2016

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Chris » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:48 pm

That's the skatter grass model (which is 16MB by itself).

Chris
Posts: 5105
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:00 am
OS: Win10
SketchUp: 2016

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Chris » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:52 pm

Weird. I can repeatedly render it successfully.

What version of Skatter are you using? I just updated a couple days ago and have 1.4.12.

Also (I didn't think of this until just now), is your Twilight Render Pro license activated? You can check by going to Extensions -> Twilight Render V2 -> Options and clicking on the License tab. If your Pro license isn't activated, you won't be able to render Skatter.

Additionally, if you open the Twilight Render render window, and Settings -> Advanced Render Settings, there is a checkbox for enabling Skatter rendering. Make sure that is checked.

Phil Meadows
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Phil Meadows » Thu Mar 19, 2020 8:28 pm

Okay. So my Twilight License activation box is blank. Strange as I've been rendering every day since I loaded Twilight on this new compy.

Incidentally, I was a backer of Skatter's recent Indiegogo. this version is full V.2 ... Might want to look under the hood and see if Twilight is playing nice with the new version!

*EDIT*
I sent an email to the licensing department, just to see if that's what's up. the most recent license email I could find in my email folder is from 2016. :shock:
_______________________
Phil Meadows The Succinct

JGA
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:13 pm
OS: win7 pro 64 bit
SketchUp: 2015 pro

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by JGA » Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:56 pm

For what it's worth, Skatter & Twilight work OK with my SKUP 2019 installation on Windows 10.
Just remember to regenerate immediately before you render - I find the geometry can be lost sometimes.
I think you may be on a 1.4? version, I don't think Skatter v2 is released yet.
Attachments
Test render
Test render
test.jpg (73.45 KiB) Viewed 2298 times
JGA

Phil Meadows
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by Phil Meadows » Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:47 pm

I'm sorry fellas but it's still not working for me. Here's my method:

1. open a new scene.
2. draw a rectangle, group it.
3. open Skatter Library, choose "short grass 01". Making sure that "Full Geometry" and "Render Only" are selected.
4. press LOAD to open Skatter dialog.
5. click rectangle group as Host, Regenerate using "render only" option. (I'm now seeing red boxes, no geometry, as expected.)
6. Regenerate again just in case.
7. open Twilight render window, select easy 09, press render button.

And the result is in the screenshot. Frustrating
Attachments
Skatter Twilight Sketchup 002.png
Skatter Twilight Sketchup 002.png (597.34 KiB) Viewed 1734 times
_______________________
Phil Meadows The Succinct

JGA
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:13 pm
OS: win7 pro 64 bit
SketchUp: 2015 pro

Re: Twilight V2 and Skatter

Post by JGA » Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:06 pm

:?
Perhaps the group face is the wrong way up & it's rendering on the other side?
Try pulling in a SKP file from C:\ProgramData\Skatter\Library\, just in case the library model is corrupt, and using it to skatter with.
Good luck
JGA

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests