About all the render engines out there

Whatever you want to talk about, but keep it clean
bravoddb

About all the render engines out there

Post by bravoddb » Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:39 am

Hi, well this may sound so strange to you guys, but I would like to hear your opinnion, I'm an Architect 18 years of experience, I started with SketchUp a year ago, and I fell in love with it, and with all the features it can have.

For 18 years, I have been doing my work, projects, in some other software, and the main activity was project and construct what I designed; but now, I think I'm becoming a frelance (not really), but here where I live, most of the architects don't make this kind of work, so some of them are calling me to make this kind of work for they.

My question is: Which render engine (unbiased) is faster?
I recently read that some unbiased rendering engine it was going to be very fast, so I downloaded the demo, and I found that TW was a little faster, or much faster.
So which one is faster then?

I own: (in order I bought them)
IRender NXT
Piranesi
Twilight
Vue 8
Podium

I love them all, I found where and when to use each one of them.
I really like all of them, I'm crazy I know, but who doesn't become crazy, with all these beauties (all SketchUp's Add ons)
I was thinking on buy, for sure Thea Render, and maybe Vray, but if VRay consumes the same time amount as TW or Thea, I wouldn't.
But there are some others like Indigo, FryRender, Maxwell Render.

Wich one do you guys recomend?
Thanks

Frederik
SketchUp: SU 8.0

Re: About all the render engines out there

Post by Frederik » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:15 am

bravoddb wrote:Hi, well this may sound so strange to you guys, but I would like to hear your opinnion...
The question is indeed a little odd, since you've posted it at the Twilight Render forum... :|
I mean... I'm sure you don't expect us to comment much on competing applications - or...?? :?
bravoddb wrote:My question is: Which render engine (unbiased) is faster?